Skip to content

Board of Directors

Student Advocacy Center has an active, passionate and committed board. 100% of board members financially support the organization. We are grateful for their time, wisdom and support.

* Faye Askew-King, LMSW, Board Chair former executive director of SOS Community Services

Brittney Barros, Youth Member

* Claudette Braxton, LMSW, Board Secretary,  Educator and Field Placement Coordinator for Eastern Michigan University School of Social Work, former agency administrator and school board member.

* Joel Gechter, CPA, Wealth Management Advisor at TIAA

Craig Hernandez, CMA, Board Treasurer, Director of Finance & Accounting, Freudenberg-NOK

Katie Hoener, LMSW, Washtenaw County Community Mental Health, former SAC intern and former Board Chair.

Jane Langeland, MBA, University of Michigan

Branden Magee, Graduate of Ann Arbor Public Schools, Youth Board Member

Peri Stone-Palmquist, LMSW, MPP, Executive Director of Student Advocacy Center.

Rossi Ray-Taylor, Ph.D., President and CEO of Ray.Taylor and Associates, former school administrator

Francisco Sánchez, MPP, Ph.D (abd),  Board Vice-Chair, Product Development Business Analyst, Ford Motor Company; Adjunct Professor, Washtenaw Community College and Lansing Community College.

Ruth Zweifler, Student Advocacy Center founder and previous Executive Director.

Board Emeritus:

James Hawkins, PhD, retired educator the former superintendent of Ypsilanti Public Schools.

Calvin E. Williams, PhD, retired educator

Our Latest Videos

Our latest videos are now available on the web. See more videos »



View our sample letters to help you craft letters to your child's school. View our Create-A-Letter Page »

Our Programs

Photo of student writing on a whiteboard.

We have a variety of programs to help students, including: Education Advocacy, Check and Connect, and more. View our Programs »